Flash sale 30% off with code LAUNCH30 Ends in --:--:--
See pricing
All Things PM

Best AI Product Management Courses (2026)

The best AI product management course depends on the gap you need to close: Hamel Husain and Shreya Shankar's AI Evals course for evals, Product Faculty or Marily Nika's Maven cohorts for a guided build, Duke or IBM on Coursera for a cheap credential, DeepLearning.AI and Pendo for free. Fifteen courses and certifications compared on format, duration, price, certificate and AI depth.

All Things PM·September 26, 2026·23 min read
A product manager at a desk weighs three very different study options laid out in front of her: a thick bound course binder, a laptop showing a live video class, and a small stack of free printed handouts
Fifteen ways to learn AI product management, from free to $7,025. The right one depends on the gap you are closing.

The best AI product management course is the one that closes your specific gap. For evals, the most AI-specific skill in the job, take Hamel Husain and Shreya Shankar's AI Evals for Engineers and PMs on Maven ($4,200). For a guided, live build of a real AI product, take Product Faculty's AI PM Certification ($5,000, with six more live certifications bundled) or Marily Nika's AI PM Bootcamp ($2,500). For a cheap, recognisable credential, take the Duke AI Product Management Specialization or the IBM AI Product Manager Professional Certificate on Coursera. For free technical depth, use DeepLearning.AI's free course videos. If your employer pays and you want a university name, MIT xPRO ($3,200) or Kellogg ($7,025) are the serious options.

A disclosure before the list: we make allthingspm.app, an AI product management course and PM interview prep platform, with AI mock interviews built from any job description. It is on this list, it is not ranked first, and we say plainly what it lacks: no human coaches, no peer mocks, and no certificate that employers recognise. Every price below was checked on the provider's own page in September 2026.

The 15 AI product management courses at a glance

CourseFormatDurationPrice (list)CertificateAI depthBest for
AI Evals for Engineers and PMs (Hamel Husain, Shreya Shankar)Live cohort, MavenAbout 6 weeks, 3 to 5 hrs/week$4,200Yes, completionVery deep, evals onlyPMs who own AI quality
Product Faculty AI PM Certification (Rohan Varma, Miqdad Jaffer, Henry Shi)Live cohort, MavenAbout 5 weeks, 4 to 6 hrs/week$5,000 (includes 6 more live certifications)YesDeepWorking PMs moving into AI
AI PM Bootcamp (Marily Nika)Live cohort, Maven5-week curriculum, 18 live sessions$2,500YesDeepCareer movers who want a shipped capstone
Duke AI Product Management SpecializationSelf-paced, CourseraAbout 4 months at 5 hrs/weekCoursera subscriptionYesMedium, ML foundationsPMs who need ML basics cheaply
IBM AI Product Manager Professional CertificateSelf-paced, CourseraAbout 3 months at 10 hrs/weekCoursera subscriptionYesMedium, PM plus generative AICareer switchers
Microsoft AI Product Manager Professional CertificateSelf-paced, CourseraAbout 3 months at 10 hrs/weekCoursera subscriptionYesLight, mostly PM fundamentalsBeginners who want a big-name line
Kellogg AI-Enabled Product ManagementOnline, weekly modules5 months, 15 to 20 hrs/week$7,025Yes, KelloggMediumEmployer-funded mid-career PMs
MIT xPRO Designing and Building AI Products and ServicesOnline program10 weeks, 6 hrs/week$3,200Yes, plus 4.8 CEUsMedium to deepSenior tech professionals
Stanford Mastering Generative AI for Product InnovationOnline course11 hours$995Part of Stanford's Advanced PM ProgramMediumA short university-branded primer
Product School AI Product Management CertificationLive cohort3 weeks, part-time$2,999YesMediumLearners who want live classes fast
GoPractice AI/ML SimulatorSelf-paced simulatorAbout 60 hours$1,190Not statedDeep, hands-on MLAnalytical PMs who learn by doing
ReforgeMembershipAnnual$1,995 a yearNot stated on pricing pageMediumSenior PMs who want a broad library
DeepLearning.AISelf-paced videoShort courses, hours eachFree videos; Pro for labsPro onlyVery deep, technicalFree technical depth
Pendo Learning LabSelf-pacedAbout 1 hour per courseFreeBadgeIntroductoryA free first step
allthingspm.app AI PM courseSelf-paced video and case studies101 lessons, 1,859 minutes of videoFree first lessons; $20/month or $120/yearNo recognised certificateDeep, built from job postingsInterview-focused AI PMs on a budget

Prices checked September 2026 on each provider's own page. Maven, Product School, MIT xPRO, Kellogg, GoPractice and Reforge list prices in US dollars. Coursera and DeepLearning.AI price by country (see the India section). "AI depth" is our judgment from each published syllabus, not a test of the course.

A bar chart of AI PM course list prices by format: Kellogg $7,025, Product Faculty $5,000, AI Evals $4,200, MIT xPRO $3,200, Product School $2,999, Marily Nika $2,500, Reforge $1,995 a year, GoPractice $1,190, Stanford $995, allthingspm.app $120 a year, DeepLearning.AI and Pendo free
Source: provider pricing pages, checked September 2026

What should a good AI PM course teach in 2026?

Course pages tell you what they teach, not whether employers want it. We built our course backwards from 604 PM job postings read in full. For this guide we went back to the AI-native slice: 335 postings at 88 companies, tagged by skill theme.

A bar chart of skill themes in 335 AI-native PM job postings: AI PM craft 89%, technical fluency 88%, enterprise and deployment 79%, AI UX 78%, agents 74%, 0-to-1 69%, outcomes and metrics 64%, evals 53%, multimodal 34%, safety 31%, model economics 22%, context engineering 14%, prompting 10%, fine-tuning 6%
Source: allthingspm.app JD corpus, 335 AI-native PM postings at 88 companies, September 2026

General PM craft, 0-to-1 work and metrics rank high too, but most courses cover them in some form. These five AI-specific themes are what separate a current course from a dated one:

  • Technical fluency (88%). Employers want a PM who can discuss model tradeoffs and make a call, not derive backpropagation. A good course frames model concepts as decisions: what a token costs, why a long context window is not memory. Our Foundations chapter is built this way.
  • Enterprise deployment (79%). Heavily requested, rarely taught. Postings name tools like ServiceNow, Zendesk, Microsoft Teams and SSO, yet almost no course covers procurement, security review or permission-aware retrieval. We gave it a chapter: Ship it into somebody else's company.
  • AI UX and human oversight (78%). Designing for a system that is wrong some known share of the time: where the approval gate goes, how citations work, what the manual path is. See AI UX and human oversight.
  • Agents (74%). The key skill is knowing when not to build one. If you can write the path, it is a workflow. MCP was named 25 times in the tools these postings list, more often than Python (15). See Agents and agentic architecture.
  • Evals (53%). Less common in postings than the course market implies, but still the best proof you can ship AI responsibly, and interviewers ask. See Evals.

Prompting (10%) and fine-tuning (6%) are the least requested themes, yet many courses still lead with them. For the full data study, read the state of AI PM hiring in 2026. Or browse live AI PM job descriptions like OpenAI's Product Manager, API Agents or Abridge's Product Lead, AI/ML (Evals).

The best AI product management courses, reviewed

1. AI Evals for Engineers and PMs (Hamel Husain and Shreya Shankar): best for evals

A dedicated evals course: it teaches nothing else. You build a real AI agent, then work the full loop: error analysis, evaluators you can trust, regression tests in CI/CD, red-teaming, and improving accuracy and cost with evidence. The next cohort runs 10 October to 22 November 2026 (billed as the last of 2026): 15 live sessions at 3 to 5 hours a week, optional coding homework, 10+ hours of office hours, and lifetime access to every future cohort. It costs $4,200 and is rated 4.7 from 901 ratings. Hamel Husain is an ML engineer who has worked with Airbnb and GitHub; Shreya Shankar has a Berkeley PhD in computer science and joins Carnegie Mellon's faculty in 2027 [1].

Who should choose it: a PM who owns quality for an AI feature, or needs a strong evals story for interviews. Practitioners on Reddit call it "comprehensive" and "worth it if you're doing this seriously" [26].

Watch out for: priced for employers, and the homework is code. If yours will not pay, start with the free evals FAQ linked from the course page [1].

2. Product Faculty AI PM Certification (Rohan Varma, Miqdad Jaffer, Henry Shi): best all-round live cohort

One of Maven's best-known AI PM certifications, it is now led by Rohan Varma, who works on Codex at OpenAI and was Cursor's first PM, with Miqdad Jaffer (OpenAI) and Henry Shi (Anthropic Labs, co-founder of Super.com). The syllabus covers spotting AI opportunities, trustworthy AI UX, evaluation suites, agentic system design and choosing an LLM for cost, latency and quality. The current cohort runs 17 September to 23 October 2026, at 4 to 6 hours a week, with live labs and a capstone. The $5,000 price includes six more live certifications (agentic engineering, evals, leadership, Claude, interviews, strategy) over a year. It is rated 4.7 from 1,487 ratings and is covered by the Maven Guarantee, Maven's refund policy [2].

Varma and Shi's own AI Product Management Course page on Maven (4.6 from 165 reviews) listed no price or open cohort when we checked, so this certification is the way to learn from them today [3].

Who should choose it: a mid-level or senior PM with an employer learning budget who wants a year of live AI training in one purchase.

Watch out for: the price rose when the bundle was added, as the FAQ says [2]. One Redditor asked before a 2026 cohort whether the capstone is "a real working artifact you could put in a job interview portfolio or is it slide-deck-shaped", and noted that the marketing for AI PM cohorts is "borderline indistinguishable" [23]. Ask alumni that question before you pay.

3. Marily Nika's AI PM Bootcamp: best for a shipped portfolio project

Dr. Marily Nika is a generative AI PM lead at Google, previously at Meta, with a PhD in machine learning, and created the first AI PM course on Maven in 2022. The 5-week curriculum (18 live sessions, 88 lessons, 3 projects) moves from AI-enhanced PM work to building, evaluating and launching a real AI product with the program's engineers, then a Demo Day, with a personal mentor. The next cohort runs 20 October to 3 December 2026 and costs $2,500, with team discounts of 20% or more. It is rated 4.3 from 617 ratings [4].

Who should choose it: someone moving into AI PM who wants a launched product to discuss in interviews, and values mentoring over depth in one topic.

Watch out for: its rating is the lowest of the big Maven cohorts, and in a 2024 thread a PM who took an earlier, different Nika course said it felt close to free material [24]. Read recent reviews.

4. Duke AI Product Management Specialization (Coursera): best cheap ML foundation

Three courses: Machine Learning Foundations for Product Managers, Managing Machine Learning Projects, and Human Factors in AI. Coursera estimates about 4 months at 5 hours a week. The instructor is Jon Reifschneider. It is rated 4.7 from 1,250 reviews, with 65,802 learners enrolled, and is included with a Coursera subscription [5]. A Director of Product on Reddit said it is "much less about product management fundamentals and more about learning ML/AI specific concepts", which suited them [25].

Who should choose it: an experienced PM who needs the ML basics at subscription prices.

Watch out for: it teaches classic ML more than LLM products, agents or evals.

5. IBM AI Product Manager Professional Certificate (Coursera): best for career switchers

Ten courses that mix PM basics (introduction, strategy, stakeholder collaboration, delivering a new product, building AI-powered products) with generative AI (foundation models, prompt engineering basics). Coursera estimates 3 months at 10 hours a week. It is rated 4.7 from 36,526 reviews, with 96,463 enrolled [6].

Who should choose it: a career switcher who needs both PM fundamentals and AI vocabulary, and wants a recognisable name on LinkedIn.

Watch out for: broad and introductory; not enough for an AI PM interview loop on its own.

6. Microsoft AI Product Manager Professional Certificate (Coursera)

Five courses on enterprise PM fundamentals, market research, design and UX, roadmapping and launch. About 3 months at 10 hours a week; rated 4.5 from 435 reviews; needs a Microsoft 365 licence or trial [7].

Who should choose it: a beginner who wants a general PM grounding with a Microsoft name.

Watch out for: despite the title, the course list is mostly general product management. If AI depth is the goal, pick Duke or IBM.

7. Kellogg Professional Certificate in AI-Enabled Product Management

Kellogg Executive Education's certificate runs five months online, with weekly modules and 15 to 20 hours a week. You need an 80% grade to earn the certificate. The fee is $7,025, and upcoming cohorts start 19 November 2026 and 11 February 2027 [9].

Who should choose it: a mid-career PM whose employer pays and who wants a business-school credential.

Watch out for: the most expensive option here, with close to a part-time job's time commitment.

8. MIT xPRO Designing and Building AI Products and Services

A 10-week online program at about 6 hours a week, ending in an AI-based product proposal. It costs $3,200 and grants a professional certificate and 4.8 CEUs from MIT xPRO. The next start is 15 October 2026 [10]. The India version, sold through Emeritus, is 12 weeks and ₹1,91,000 [11].

Who should choose it: senior technology professionals and founders who want an MIT-branded overview of AI product design.

9. Stanford Online: Mastering Generative AI for Product Innovation

An 11-hour Stanford Online course (XAPRO210) taught by Aditya Challapally and Professor Edison Tse. It covers finding the right problems for generative AI, choosing models and assessing risk. It costs $995, with 60 days to finish, and is part of Stanford's Advanced Product Management Program [12].

Who should choose it: someone who wants a short, university-branded primer and can expense about $1,000.

10. Product School AI Product Management Certification

A live, instructor-led certification over 3 weeks part-time, two sessions a week. It costs $2,999 alone; Pro membership ($3,999 a year) includes two certifications and Unlimited ($4,999 a year) ten [13].

Who should choose it: someone who wants live classes, a fixed short schedule and a certificate quickly.

Watch out for: Reddit's PM community has long been sceptical of Product School certificates. A 2024 thread drew replies such as "employers don't really care" and "the only certifications worth pursuing are those that your employer is willing to sponsor" [29].

11. GoPractice AI/ML Simulator: best hands-on self-paced option

No lectures. You work through four AI projects, building initial models, choosing quality and business metrics, and diagnosing model quality issues. It takes about 60 hours and needs no programming. It costs $1,190, and the content was last reviewed in July 2026 [14]. The page does not mention a certificate.

Who should choose it: an analytical PM who learns by doing and wants real depth without a live schedule.

12. Reforge

An individual membership costs $1,995 a year and includes live courses, 40+ on-demand courses, 600+ guides and 1,400+ artifacts [15]. It is a broad PM library rather than an AI PM program.

Who should choose it: a senior PM whose company pays and who wants a whole library rather than one course.

13. DeepLearning.AI: best free technical depth

The free plan gives you every course video, including Andrew Ng's Agentic AI course, many short courses on agents, and a whole "Evaluation and Monitoring" topic. Hands-on labs, graded assessments and professional certificates need Pro [16][17]. Reddit commenters suggest it as an alternative to paid AI PM courses [24].

Who should choose it: anyone who wants to understand how LLM systems, agents and evals actually work, for free.

Watch out for: it teaches the technology, not the PM job.

14. Pendo Learning Lab: best free first step

Pendo's "AI for Product Management" course, built with Mind the Product and Google Cloud, was listed at $149 and offered free [19]. Its page now redirects to Pendo's Learning Lab, where courses such as "Becoming an AI-native Product Manager" (6 modules, 29 lessons, about an hour) are free and end in a verifiable badge [18].

Who should choose it: anyone who wants a free, short introduction and a badge to show they started.

15. allthingspm.app: best for interview-focused AI PMs on a budget

Our product, so weigh this accordingly. The AI PM course has 14 chapters and 101 lessons, each with a real source video (1,859 minutes in total), 14 graded case studies and a knowledge graph of 212 AI PM concepts. It was built backwards from 604 PM job postings across 95 companies and 137 careers boards, and is updated weekly from live AI PM postings, with a public changelog. The first lessons are free. Pro is $20 a month or $120 a year (₹1,200 or ₹8,400 in India) and adds the whole course, unlimited AI mock interviews and resume reviews.

The allthingspm.app course page, showing 14 chapters and 101 lessons, a last-updated line, and the first chapters: Foundations, Data fluency, PM as builder, Discovery and strategy, The AI PRD, and Agents
The allthingspm.app AI PM course, September 2026

Who should choose it: someone preparing for AI PM interviews who wants the course, the question bank and mock interviews built from a real job description in one place for the price of a streaming subscription.

What it does not have: no live instructors, human coaches, peer mocks or cohort, no certificate employers recognise, and no long track record or public reviews yet. If you need those, choose an option above.

Are AI product manager certifications worth it?

For getting hired, mostly not. For learning, sometimes very much. In the latest snapshot of our JD corpus (389 PM postings at 86 companies, read on 22 September 2026), no posting asked for a product management or AI course certificate. One security PM role listed CISSP, CISM or PMP as a bonus. By contrast, 119 mention a degree. Hiring managers on Reddit agree. In a November 2025 thread, one who hires PMs wrote: "I've never once thought someone has a better profile because they have certifications" [20]. A coach and former hiring manager concluded that "there are no universally respected certifications for PMs", though a good course can still be worth it for the knowledge [21]. In r/prodmgmt: "It's not a certification driven industry" [27].

For AI roles specifically, the advice is to build something. A former dev turned product director said they would be more impressed by "some ML type projects" than a certificate [22]. An AI PM whose company offered ₹40,000 for certifications was told a Claude subscription and building your own prototypes "might be better value for money than any certification" [28].

A certificate still helps in a few cases:

  • Your employer pays, and completing a named program is part of a promotion or internal-transfer case. Maven's course pages include a reimbursement template for exactly this [2].
  • You are switching careers and need a line on LinkedIn that gets you past a non-technical screener. A cheap Coursera credential does that job at subscription prices.
  • You are applying for contract roles, where resumes are often keyword-matched [21].

Either way, the real value is what you can show: a working prototype, an eval set, a PRD with named risks and guardrails. Our 455 real PM portfolio sites show what that looks like, and the take-home and portfolio lesson covers what recruiters read first.

How to choose an AI PM course for your situation

If your budget is zero. Watch DeepLearning.AI's free videos on agents and evaluation, take a Pendo Learning Lab course, then build one small AI prototype and write an eval set for it. That beats most paid certificates.

If you have under $200. A few months of Coursera gets you the Duke or IBM credential. Or spend it on a year of a practice-focused platform and a model subscription to build with.

If your employer is paying. Pick by the gap. For evals, take Hamel Husain and Shreya Shankar's course. For a broad live program, take Product Faculty. For a university name, take MIT xPRO or Kellogg. Ask for the syllabus and a recent alum's contact before enrolling.

If you are a senior PM adding AI depth. Skip fundamentals. You need technical fluency, evals and enterprise deployment. The Evals course plus GoPractice's simulator is a strong pairing. Senior and staff roles were 185 of the 335 AI-native postings we analysed, so this is who employers are hiring.

If you are switching careers into AI PM. Get one structured credential (IBM on Coursera) and one shipped project (Marily Nika's bootcamp capstone, or your own build). Then practise interviews against real roles. Our roadmap, how to become an AI product manager, covers the order.

If you are in India. Rupee prices change the maths. From India, Coursera Plus showed ₹2,099 a month or ₹13,999 a year [8], and DeepLearning.AI Pro showed ₹999 a month or ₹9,990 a year [16]. Maven, Product School, Kellogg and GoPractice charged in US dollars on the pages we checked, and MIT xPRO's Emeritus version was ₹1,91,000 [11]. allthingspm.app Pro is ₹1,200 a month or ₹8,400 a year.

What are the best free AI product management courses?

  • DeepLearning.AI (free plan): every course video, including agentic AI and a full evaluation and monitoring track. Certificates need Pro [16][17].
  • Pendo Learning Lab: free, hour-long AI courses for PMs with a verifiable badge [18].
  • Hamel Husain and Shreya Shankar's free evals resources: the evals FAQ linked from their course page is a strong free starting point [1].
  • Free first lessons of paid courses: Maven listings show free lessons, and our Foundations chapter opens with a free lesson on what the AI PM job now is.
  • Coursera trial: the monthly Coursera Plus plan shows a 7-day free trial [8], enough to judge whether Duke or IBM fits you.

Pair any course with interview practice

A course teaches the material; an interview tests whether you can use it under pressure. Our question bank has 4,122 real PM interview questions tagged to 260 companies, including hubs for Anthropic and OpenAI. One that tests the evals and metrics themes above: after launching an enterprise AI agent, what primary success metric and guardrail metrics would you choose?. See also AI PM interview questions and answers and AI mock interview tools for product managers.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best AI product management course in 2026?

It depends on your gap: Hamel Husain and Shreya Shankar's AI Evals course ($4,200) for evals, Product Faculty ($5,000) or Marily Nika ($2,500) for a live cohort, Duke or IBM on Coursera for a cheap credential, and DeepLearning.AI for free technical depth.

Which AI product manager certification is most recognised?

None is universally recognised. In the latest 389 PM postings we read in full, none asked for a PM or AI course certificate. MIT xPRO, Kellogg, Stanford, Duke, IBM and Microsoft are the most recognisable names on a resume, but hiring managers on Reddit say shipped work and interview performance count far more.

Is there a free AI product management course with a certificate?

Yes. Pendo's Learning Lab courses are free and end in a verifiable badge. DeepLearning.AI's course videos are free, but its certificates need a Pro plan. Coursera certificates need a subscription, although the monthly plan has a 7-day free trial.

Are Maven AI PM courses worth the money?

Usually, when your employer pays or you will use the capstone. The big Maven cohorts are rated 4.3 to 4.7 by hundreds of students each and give you live instructors from OpenAI, Anthropic and Google, peers and a project. The risk Reddit users raise is paying $2,500 to $5,000 for a slide-deck capstone, so ask alumni what they actually built.

What is the best AI PM course for someone in India?

On a rupee budget, use Coursera (₹13,999 a year from India) or DeepLearning.AI (free videos, Pro from ₹999 a month). For a university brand, MIT xPRO's Emeritus version is ₹1,91,000. allthingspm.app Pro is ₹1,200 a month.

Sources

  1. Maven, "AI Evals For Engineers & PMs" by Hamel Husain and Shreya Shankar (price, cohort dates, format, ratings)
  2. Maven, Product Faculty "AI Product Management Certification" (price, bundle, cohort, instructors, FAQ and refund terms)
  3. Maven, "AI Product Management Course" by Rohan Varma and Henry Shi
  4. Maven, "AI Product Management Bootcamp & Certification" by Dr. Marily Nika
  5. Coursera, Duke University AI Product Management Specialization
  6. Coursera, IBM AI Product Manager Professional Certificate
  7. Coursera, Microsoft AI Product Manager Professional Certificate
  8. Coursera Plus pricing (viewed from India)
  9. Kellogg Executive Education, Professional Certificate in AI-Enabled Product Management
  10. MIT xPRO, Designing and Building AI Products and Services
  11. MIT xPRO with Emeritus, Designing and Building AI Products and Services (India pricing)
  12. Stanford Online, XAPRO210 Mastering Generative AI for Product Innovation
  13. Product School, pricing and AI Product Management certification schedule
  14. GoPractice, AI/ML Simulator for Product Managers
  15. Reforge, pricing
  16. DeepLearning.AI, courses and plans
  17. DeepLearning.AI help centre, "What do I get with the DeepLearning.AI Pro membership that I don't get for free?"
  18. Pendo Learning Lab, "Becoming an AI-native Product Manager"
  19. Pendo, "Introducing the AI for Product Management Course"
  20. Reddit r/ProductManagement, "Why is this sub so overwhelmingly against PM certifications?" (November 2025)
  21. Reddit r/ProductManagement, "PSA: No that certification won't help you land a PM job" (June 2025)
  22. Reddit r/ProductManagement, "Are AI Product Management courses/bootcamps worth it?"
  23. Reddit r/AIProductManagers, "Considering Product Faculty's AI PM cert for June" (May 2026)
  24. Reddit r/ProductManagement, "Best AI PM Courses - 2024"
  25. Reddit r/ProductManagement, "Anyone taking this AI Product Management Specialization from Coursera"
  26. Reddit r/LangChain, "AI testing resources that actually helped me get started" (January 2026)
  27. Reddit r/prodmgmt, "AI Product management vs other Product Management certifications" (November 2025)
  28. Reddit r/ProductManagement, "Suggestions for Certifications" (December 2025)
  29. Reddit r/ProductManagement, "Are Product School certifications worth it?"
  30. allthingspm.app JD corpus: 604 PM postings read in full; skill themes from the 335 AI-native postings at 88 companies; certificate and degree counts from the latest 389-posting snapshot read on 22 September 2026.
PM
Written by the All Things PM team
Frameworks and interview prep for product managers.
The AI PM course

Reading is the easy half.
The course grades the other half.

Start for free