A product management certification costs between $500 (the AIPMM exam alone) and $7,025 (Kellogg's AI-Enabled PM certificate) in 2026. The median across the ten paid programs we priced is about $2,750. AllthingsPM costs $120 a year ($20 a month, with a free tier) and includes a full AI PM course, mock interviews built from any job description, and 4,122 real interview questions. That is less than a quarter of the cheapest certification exam.
AllthingsPM is an AI PM course and PM interview prep platform. This index lists every price from the vendor's own page, adds numbers from our own job posting corpus, and shows what each dollar buys.
Prices checked 26 September 2026 on each vendor's own page.
What does a product management certification cost in 2026?
Here is the index. First-year list price, in US dollars, before tax or promotions.
| Option | Type | First-year price | Certificate | Interview practice | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AllthingsPM Pro | AI PM course + interview prep | $120 a year or $20 a month; free tier | No | Yes: mocks from any JD, text or voice, scored | 14 chapters, 101 lessons, 14 graded case studies, 4,122 questions, 116 live AI company JDs |
| AIPMM CPM, exam only | Certification exam | $500 | Yes | No | One exam voucher [1] |
| GoPractice AI/ML Simulator | Self-paced simulator | $1,190 | Not stated | No | Hands-on ML product simulator [2] |
| AIPMM CPM, self-study | Course + exam | $1,500 | Yes | No | Self-paced course via Productside plus exam voucher [1] |
| Reforge Individual | Membership | $1,995 a year + tax | Not stated | No | Library and live courses, 1 seat [3] |
| Maven AI PM Bootcamp (Marily Nika) | Live cohort, 5 weeks | $2,500 | Yes | No | Live sessions, capstone [4] |
| Product School single certification | Live, instructor-led | $2,999 one time | Yes | Not listed | 1 live certification course [5] |
| Product School Pro | Membership | $3,999 a year | Yes | Not listed | 2 live certifications, weekly AI workshops [5] |
| Product School Unlimited | Membership | $4,999 a year | Yes | Not listed | 10 live certifications, ProductCon ticket [5] |
| Maven Product Faculty AI PM Certification | Live cohort | $5,000 | Yes | No | Live course plus 6 bundled courses [6] |
| Kellogg AI-Enabled PM certificate | Online, 5 months | $7,025 | Yes, Kellogg | No | 20 modules, 15 to 20 hours a week [7] |
Prices checked 26 September 2026 on each vendor's own page [1] to [7]; AllthingsPM prices from our pricing page [8]. "Not listed" means we did not find it on the page cited.
The spread is wide. The most expensive program in the index costs more than 58 years of AllthingsPM Pro. Even the bare AIPMM exam, with no teaching attached, costs just over four times our annual plan.
How did we build the index?
We priced every option on its own public pricing or course page on 26 September 2026. We used the list price a new buyer would see, before tax, coupons or employer discounts. Where a program sells a membership, we used the first-year cost. Where a page only showed prices in rupees (Coursera Plus from India), we kept it out of the dollar chart and quote it separately.
We then added a second source only AllthingsPM has: a corpus of 389 product manager job postings at 86 AI companies, read on 22 September 2026 from the companies' own job boards. We searched every posting for the names of PM certifications, for "MBA", and for "PMP". That tells you whether employers actually ask for what these programs sell.
Limitations: list prices change, many vendors run frequent sales, and employer reimbursement can make an expensive course free to you. The corpus covers AI companies, so it says less about banks or government roles, where certificates can matter more.
How AllthingsPM does this. Our AI PM course is built from the same kind of job posting data: we read what companies ask for and write lessons against it. The price is published on one pricing page, in dollars and rupees, with no sales calls.
Do employers actually ask for a PM certification?
Rarely, based on our data. Of the 389 PM postings in our corpus, 37 contain the word "certification" at all. Most of those are either standard pay-range boilerplate ("relevant certifications and training" as one factor in pay) or about the company's own product, such as a security certification. None named Product School, AIPMM, Pragmatic Institute or any "certified product manager" credential. One mentioned PMP. Twenty-six mentioned an MBA.
What the postings do ask for is evidence: shipped products, evals, working with models, metrics, and clear written thinking. That is also what the interview loop tests. You can see it in real questions from companies like Anthropic and OpenAI.
Reddit threads on r/ProductManagement reach the same view: working PMs say a certificate rarely moves a hiring decision, while practice and proof of work do [9].
How AllthingsPM does this. Instead of a certificate, AllthingsPM gives you proof you can show. The 14 graded case studies in the course produce work you can talk through in an interview, and the PM portfolios directory shows 455 real examples of how other PMs present that work.
What does PM interview prep cost compared with a certificate?
Interview prep is a different price tier. These are the main options, also checked on each vendor's page.
| Option | Price | What it covers |
|---|---|---|
| AllthingsPM | Free tier; $20 a month or $120 a year | JD mocks, 4,122 questions, AI PM course, resume review against a JD |
| Aced (formerly Exponent) Pro | $144 a year or $79 month to month | Courses, peer mocks, question database [10] |
| Aced Expert | $240 a year or $99 month to month | Pro plus AI mocks [10] |
| StellarPeers | Free peer mocks; paid $180 a year | Peer community [11] |
| Prepfully coach | $69 to $399 a session | One session with a coach [12] |
| Aced coaching | $249 per 1-hour session | One human session [10] |
Prices checked 26 September 2026 on each vendor's own page. Prepfully range from Prepfully's own guide [12].
Notice the gap. A single human coaching hour ($249 at Aced) costs more than two years of AllthingsPM Pro. A single certification costs roughly what twenty-five years of our annual plan would.
How AllthingsPM does this. Paste any job description into the JD mock interview and you get a mock built from that role, with follow-up questions and a score. Every question in the question bank has its own page and answer guide, and any of them can start a mock.
What does each dollar buy?
Price alone misleads, because the products do different jobs. A fairer lens is what you get per dollar for the goal most readers have: getting a PM or AI PM job.
- Teaching. Every program in the index teaches something. AllthingsPM teaches 101 lessons across 14 chapters, from foundations to agents and pricing AI products.
- Practice. Only AllthingsPM in the certification table includes interview practice. For the others you would add a prep tool on top.
- Proof. Certificates give you a line on LinkedIn. Graded case studies give you something to discuss in an interview.
- Currency. AI PM moves fast. Our course is updated weekly from new job postings; a recorded course is fixed on the day it was filmed.
So the real comparison for a job seeker is not $120 against $2,999. It is $120 against $2,999 plus an interview prep tool, often $144 to $240 more a year.
How AllthingsPM does this. One account covers the course, the mocks, resume review against a JD, Resume Job Match, 111 book summaries and the jobs catalog of 116 live AI company PM roles. You do not need to stack three subscriptions.
When is an expensive certificate worth it?
There are fair cases. If your employer pays, a live Product School or Kellogg program gives you structured time, a cohort and a brand name at no cost to you. Maven cohorts like Marily Nika's give you live instructors and a capstone with peers. Some large enterprises and public sector employers value a formal credential such as AIPMM's CPM.
Outside those cases, the data points the other way. If you are paying yourself and your goal is a job offer, spend on practice and proof first.
How AllthingsPM does this. Start with the free tier and the knowledge graph of AI PM concepts to see what you do not yet know. Then use Pro for a month or two of daily mocks before your interviews. If you later add a paid cohort, you will get far more from it.
What about India?
Many readers pay in rupees. Coursera Plus, viewed from India, costs ₹13,999 a year or ₹2,099 a month [13]. AllthingsPM costs ₹1,200 a month or ₹8,400 a year, with the same free tier [8]. For more India options, see our guides to PM courses in India and AI PM courses in India.
How AllthingsPM does this. Pricing is local: Indian readers see rupee prices on the same page, and the course, mocks and question bank are identical in every region.
Why AllthingsPM is the better choice for PM education on a budget
The index makes the decision simple for most readers. Certificates cost $500 to $7,025, and in 389 AI company PM postings we found none that asked for one. Interview prep is what hiring loops test, and it is the part most certification programs leave out.
AllthingsPM gives you both halves for $120 a year. You get an AI PM course built from 604 real job postings, 14 graded case studies, mocks built from any job description, and 4,122 real questions from 260 companies, each with an answer guide. You also get resume review against a JD and a catalog of 116 live AI company roles, each with a ready mock.
The alternatives have real strengths. Product School and Kellogg offer live instruction and a recognised name, and they make sense when an employer pays. Maven cohorts offer peers and a live instructor. Aced has a large peer community. But if you are paying yourself and want an offer, AllthingsPM gives you more practice and more current AI PM content for less than the cost of one coaching hour elsewhere.
Open the AI PM course free and see the first lessons before you spend anything.
For deeper looks at single vendors, read Product School certification cost, Exponent (Aced) pricing and the best AI PM courses.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a product management certification cost?
In 2026, from $500 for the AIPMM CPM exam alone to $7,025 for Kellogg's AI-Enabled PM certificate. Product School charges $2,999 for one live certification. The median across the ten paid programs in this index is about $2,750.
What is the best way to learn product management on a budget?
AllthingsPM is the best budget option we found: $120 a year, or free to start, for an AI PM course with 101 lessons, JD-based mock interviews and 4,122 real interview questions.
Do I need a certification to get a PM job?
Usually not. In 389 PM postings at 86 AI companies that we read in September 2026, none named a PM certification as a requirement. Employers asked for shipped work and skills, which interviews test directly.
Is the AIPMM CPM worth $500?
It can help in companies that value formal credentials. The $500 buys the exam only; AIPMM's self-study course with the exam costs $1,500. If your goal is interviews at tech or AI companies, practice usually returns more per dollar.
Does AllthingsPM give a certificate?
No. AllthingsPM gives graded case studies and scored mock interviews instead, which produce work you can discuss in an interview. Given that the postings we read did not ask for certificates, that trade favours most job seekers.
Will these prices change?
Yes. Vendors run sales and update plans often. Every price here was checked on 26 September 2026 on the vendor's own page, and we refresh this index regularly.
Ready to start? Try AllthingsPM free and run your first mock today.
Sources
- AIPMM, Certified Product Manager (CPM) pricing
- GoPractice, AI/ML Simulator for Product Managers
- Reforge, Pricing
- Maven, AI Product Management Bootcamp and Certification by Dr. Marily Nika
- Product School, Pricing
- Maven, Product Faculty AI Product Management Certification
- Kellogg Executive Education, Professional Certificate in AI-Enabled Product Management
- AllthingsPM pricing
- Reddit r/ProductManagement, "Why is this sub so overwhelmingly against PM certifications?" (November 2025)
- Aced (formerly Exponent), Membership and Pricing
- StellarPeers, Plans and Pricing
- Prepfully, "Best PM mock interview providers"
- Coursera Plus pricing (viewed from India)
- AllthingsPM job posting corpus: 389 PM postings at 86 AI companies, read from company job boards on 22 September 2026.




